WHAT DO THOSE BUTTONS MEAN AT THE TOP OF FACEBOOK?

Clicking the Facebook logo in the top-left corner of the website can be your best friend. Clicking it at anytime will bring you back to the main Facebook page where you can see and scroll through all of your News Feed stories.

Clicking and typing within the Find friends field allows you to search through your current friends and clicking one of those search results will bring you to their profile page. You might also notice that clicking in the Find friends field will show you Recent searches of your friends.

Clicking the image above or your name right next to it ("Pamela" in this case) will load your profile page. 

Home does the same thing as clicking the Facebook logo in the top-left corner of Facebook - it brings you back to the main Facebook page where the News Feed exists. 

Find Friends will show you the people that have requested to be your friend as well as a list of People You May Know. You can request their friendship if you'd like. The icon of a woman and a man shows the same stuff. Go ahead, click it and see.

The message bubble with a zig-zag in it shows your Messages. Click it and it'll show your past conversations with Friends. Clicking a conversation from the drop-down will open the conversation at the bottom of your page in a tiny window so you can keep talking if you'd like. 

The globe icon will show you your Notifications. This is a mix of updates that Facebook shares to keep you informed about Friends Requests, Birthdays, and a whole bunch of other things. Feel free to click on a notification from the list that shows when you click the globe to find out more.

The padlock icon shows your Privacy Shortcuts. There is plenty there that you can click to explore.

The downward arrow icon shows a variety of other functions and settings, like how to create Pages, Groups, or Ads.

HOW DO I WRITE SOMETHING TO SHARE WITH ALL MY FACEBOOK FRIENDS?

There are two ways to write a message to share with all of your Friends on Facebook

  • From the Facebook homepage, or
  • From your Facebook profile page

Let's dive in and try it!

From the Facebook homepage

The Facebook homepage is where you start your Facebook journey.

If you're not sure if you're on the Facebook homepage, click the Facebook logo always in the top-left corner, or click the word "Home" at the top of Facebook. Clicking either will bring you to the Facebook homepage.

Typing something into the Status area (where it says "What's on your mind?") and clicking the Post button will create a Status Update for people to see. 

Who will see this? Well, the Status Update can be seen by anyone included in the privacy option you choose. For example, if you wrote a Status Update like Pamela Smith was preparing to do in the image here, you would be sharing with only your Facebook Friends because the Friends option is chosen to the left of the Post button. If you don't want to share a message with all your Friends on Facebook, click that button to the left of the Post button and check out the other options. Then once it's changed, you can click Post to share it.

From your Facebook profile page

You can share words with your Friends by typing a Status Update on your profile too. Like the Facebook homepage, typing something into the Status area and clicking the Post button will create your Status Update. Again, this Status Update can be seen by anyone included in the privacy option you set. For example, if you wrote a Status Update as Pamela Smith, you would be sharing with only your Friends because the Friends option is chosen next to the Post button. If you want to share with more or less than just your Friends on Facebook, click that button to the left of the Post button and change it.


After writing what you'd like and choosing who you want to share it with, click Post. It will create a Status Update like the the photo here ("I love my baby!")

WHAT'S THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN SHARING WITH ALL YOUR FRIENDS AND SHARING WITH ONE PERSON?

Sharing With All Your Facebook Friends

If you want to share a thought or photo with everyone you're Friends with on Facebook, you'll want to write it in the Status Update area. The Status Update area is the box that says "What's on your mind?" (pictured below)

If you're still not sure where this is, click the small Facebook logo in the top-left corner (pictured above) Once you do this, the page should load up and show you the "What's on your mind?" box at the top of the page. Now you can type whatever you'd like to share or click Photo/Video to add one of those! Click Post when you're ready.

Note: The Friends box directly to the left of the Post option means you're sharing this text, photo, or video with all your Facebook Friends. You can click it to see more options, but I'd recommend keeping it as Friends for now.


Sharing Directly with One Person

If you want to share a message or photo for one person specifically, such as a cute "I love you" message or perhaps a photo, you'll want to go to that person's Profile page. To do this, start typing their name in the "Find friends" box at the top of the Facebook page (right next to the small Facebook logo in the top-left corner). Click the name when it pops up.

Once you click the name from there, you'll get to the Profile you want. Now find the box that says "Write something to" and the person's name in it (pictured below). Start typing away!

Note: Sharing a message or photo this way is not private between you and the person you're sharing with. Others can see potentially see this. If you'd like to send a private message between the two of you, you'll want to use Facebook Messenger (guide coming soon!).

HOW TO DELETE AN EMBARRASSING STATUS UPDATE OR PHOTO?

If you wrote something embarrassing, there is a good chance it is a Status Update. Let's check. First, we need to go to your Profile. To do this, click your name at the top of the page (pictured below).

Your Profile page should load up on the screen. Scroll down to find the status you want to delete and click the downward arrow in the top-right corner of the Status Update (pictured below).

Click Delete from the list of options there. Boom, done!